NZ SKA Forum 2019

We look forward to welcoming you to Auckland University of Technology (AUT) for the New Zealand SKA Forum 2019.

This forum focuses on the science and computing challenges presented by the Square Kilometre Array (SKA), one of the 21st century’s biggest and most ambitious projects.  AUT has a long tradition of hosting SKA related events going back to 2005.  This time it will be the 6th SKA Forum conducted in New Zealand.

The NZ SKA Forum 2019 will unite two colloquia on Science and Computing for SKA.  Following the successful format established in February 2018, the Science for SKA Colloquium will be hosted before the Computing for SKA Colloquium.

View campus map

Science for SKA Colloquium (S4SKA) 2019

Dates: Tuesday 12 - Wednesday 13 February 2019
Venue: WF Building, Room WF711, AUT City Campus

The Science Organising Committee warmly invites you to attend the annual Colloquium hosted by the Institute for Radio Astronomy and Space Research, SKA NZ Alliance and AUT’s School for Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences. The primary aim of the S4SKA Colloquium is to foster interaction and collaboration between New Zealand and international scientists – radio astronomers and astrophysicists, physicists and engineers, mathematicians and statisticians - building on previous NZ SKA meetings, and thereby helping to realise the exciting potential of the SKA.

Science Organising Committee

Sergei Gulyaev – AUT (Co-chair)
Willem van Straten – AUT (Co-chair)
Chris Gordon – University of Canterbury
Stephen Curran – Victoria University of Wellington
Yvette Perrott – Victoria University of Wellington

Computing for SKA Colloquium (C4SKA) 2019:  from Design to Construction

Dates: Thursday 14 – Friday 15 February 2019
Venue: Thursday venue WZ Building, Room WZ416.  Friday venue WE Building, Room WE230, AUT City Campus

The Local Organising Committee warmly invites you to attend the annual Colloquium hosted by the SKA NZ Alliance in conjunction with AUT’s School for Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences and Institute for Radio Astronomy and Space Research.  It brings together industry and academics working on the design of computer systems for the SKA - the mega science project of the 21st century to build the world’s largest and most sensitive radio telescope.  This is an opportunity to hear from the experts involved in the design phase and learn about the range of solutions developed to meet the unprecedented computing demands.  The Colloquium will also include presentations and discussions around the project’s transition towards construction, including design updates, prototyping and the Bridging phase.

Local Organising Committee

Peter Baillie - AUT
John Bancroft – REANNZ
TN Chan – Modern Technology NZ Ltd (Compucon)
Andrew Ensor – AUT (Co-chair)
Anthony Griffin - AUT
Sergei Gulyaev – AUT (Co-chair)
Patricia Sallis - AUT (Admin) 
Willem van Straten - AUT


Science for SKA Colloquium (S4SKA) 2019

Venue: Business Building WF, Room WF711

Tuesday 12 February

Registration - WF Level 7 Foyer
Robert Braun, SKA Office - SKA Project and Science Update
Part 1, Part 2, Part 3


TEA BREAK (30 min)
Phil Edwards, CSIRO - An update on SKA activities in Australia


LUNCH (60 min)
Richard Easther, University of Auckland - Cosmology: Where Are We Now and What Happens Next?


TEA BREAK (30 min)
Sergei Gulyaev, AUT - SKA + VLBI Science – an Update





Wednesday 13 February


TEA BREAK (30 min)


LUNCH (60 min)
BUS TRIP to Warkworth Radio Astronomical Observatory and Ascension Wine Estate
Estimated time of arrival back in Auckland CBD

Computing for SKA Colloquium (C4SKA) 2019

Two venues:

  • Thursday: WZ Building, Room WZ416
  • Friday: WE Building, Room WE230

Thursday 14 February

Discussion Forum (Q&A)




DINNER: Four Points by Sheraton, Main Entrance 110 Mayoral Drive

Friday 15 February

Norbert Abel   HPC Research Lab, AUT

Jordan Alexander   IRASR, AUT

Peter Baillie   HPC Research Lab, AUT

Vignesh Raja Balu   Massey University

John Bancroft   REANNZ

Mia Baquiran   CSIRO

Jordi Blasco   HPCNow

Céline Boehm   The University of Sydney

Robert Braun   SKA Organisation

John Bunton   CSIRO

Adam Campbell   HPC Research Lab, AUT

TN Chan   Compucon New Zealand

Yuqing Chen   CSIRO

Phil Crosby   CSIRO

Stephen Curran   Victoria University of Wellington

Markus Dolensky   ICRAR

Richard Easther   University of Auckland

Philip Edwards   CSIRO

Andrew Ensor   HPC Research Lab, AUT

Dave Fielder   Compucon New Zealand

Chris Gordon   University of Canterbury

Anthony Griffin   HPC Research Lab, AUT

Sergei Gulyaev   IRASR, AUT

Juan Carlos Guzman   CSIRO

Seth Hall   HPC Research Lab, AUT

Grant Hampson   CSIRO

Piers Harding   Catalyst IT

David Honey   HPE

Zhiyi Huang   University of Otago

David Humphrey   CSIRO

Melanie Johnston-Hollitt   Curtin University

Will Kamp   HPC Research Lab, AUT

Maurizio Miccolis   SKAO

Tim Natusch   IRASR, AUT

Yvette Perrott   Victoria University of Wellington

Brody Radford   University of Auckland

Simon Rae   MBIE

Michael Reznik   Xilinx

Krystine Sherwin   University of Auckland

Oliver Sinnen   University of Auckland

Willem van Straten   IRASR, AUT

Maxim Voronkov   CSIRO

Haomiao Wang   University of Auckland

Andreas Wicenec   University of Western Australia

Stefan Wong   Compucon New Zealand

Mingshuang Wu   Compucon New Zealand

Philip Yock

Tingyu Zhang   Compucon New Zealand

Organising Committees

  • Peter Baillie - AUT
  • John Bancroft – AUT
  • TN Chan - Compucon
  • Andrew Ensor – AUT (Co-chair)
  • Nicolás Erdödy - Open Parallel Ltd
  • Anthony Griffin - AUT
  • Sergei Gulyaev – AUT (Co-chair)
  • Patricia Sallis - AUT (Admin)
  • Willem van Straten - AUT